Home   |   About Us   |   Advertise   |   Contact Us  
By clicking on this link you can obtain select schools prospectus through the post.
CLICK HERE...
 
 
 
     
 
 
 

Provision in the independent sector for pupils with special educational needs and disabilities

 

Pupils with SEND continue to be very well educated within the independent sector and this is undoubtedly one of the sector’s strengths. Many parents of children with special educational needs and disabilities take them out of the maintained sector because the class sizes are too big and they feel there is not enough individual support. The independent sector offers a range of choice not available within the maintained sector. Specialist Provision Schools (SPS) are approved for specific learning difficulties, with associated language difficulties, such as dyspraxia and attention deficit hyperactivity disorder (ADHD). Dyslexia Specialist Provision Schools (DSP) are established primarily to teach pupils with dyslexia. There are also mainstream boarding schools with designated units or centres providing specialist tuition on a small group or individual basis. In January 2015, 66,026 pupils (33,311 boarders) were identified as having SEND. The most common SEND is dyslexia (321,169) followed by information processing (9,053), dyspraxia (5,459), gross and fine motor skills (3,720) and Asperger’s syndrome (3,597). The table below lists independent boarding schools on the CReSTeD Register providing support for pupils with SEND .

Independent boarding schools on the CReSTeD Register providing support for pupils with SEND

Specialist Provision Schools (SPS) are approved for specific learning difficulties, and associated language difficulties, dyspraxia and ADHA.

Category  School Town Website  
SPS Appleford School Salisbury www.applefordschool.org  
SPS More House School Farnham  www.morehouseschool.com  
SPS Northease Manor Lewes www.northease.co.uk  
SPS St David's College Llandudno wwwstdavidscollege.co.uk  

Dyslexia Specialist Provision Schools (DSP) are established primarily to teach pupils with dyslexia.

Category School Town Website
DSP Bredon School Tewkesbury www.bredonschool.org
DSP  Bruern Abbey School  Chesterton www.bruernabbey.org
DSP  Frewen College Rye www.frewencollege.co.uk
DSP  Mark College Highbridge www.priorygroup
DSP  Moon Hall School Dorking www.moonhallschool.co.uk 
DSP Moon Hall College Dorking www.moonhallcollege.co.uk
DSP  Nunnykirk Centre Morpeth www.nunnykirk.co.uk
DSP  Shapwick School Bridgwater www.shapwickschool.com

Some mainstream boarding schools have a designated unit or centre providing specialist tuition. 

Barnardiston Hall Preparatory School Barnardiston Suffolk www.barnardiston.com  
Bedstone College Bucknell Shropshire www.bedstone.org  
Bethany School Cranbrook Kent www.bethanyschool.org.uk  
Bloxham School Banbury Oxfordshire www.bloxhamschool.com  

Brockhurst & Marlston House Schools

Newbury Berkshire www.brocknarl.org.uk  
Clayesmore Preparatory School Blandford Forum Dorset www.clayesmore.com  
Clayesmore Blandford Forum Dorset www.clayesmore.com  
Clifton College Preparatory School Bristol Avon  www.cliftoncollegeuk.com/prep  
Cobham Hall School Cobham Kent www.cobhamhall.com  
Ellesmere College Ellesmere Shropshire www.ellesmere.com  
Finborough School Stowmarket Suffolk www.finboroughschool.co.uk  
Fulneck School Leeds West Yorkshire www.fulneckschool.co.uk  
Hazlegrove Preparatory School Yeovil Somerset  www.hazlegrove.co.uk  
Kingham Hill School Chipping Norton Oxfordshire  www.kinghamhill.org.uk  
King's School Bruton Somerset   www.kingsbruton.com  
Kingsley School
(The Grenville Dyslexia Centre) 
Bideford Devon  www.kingsleyschoolbideford.co.uk  
Kingswood House School Epsom Surrey  www.kingswoodhouse.org  
Lavant House School  Chichester West Sussex www.lavanthouse.org.uk  
Lime House School Carlisle Cumbria www.limehouseschool.co.uk  
Mayville High School Southsea Hampshire www.mayvillehighschool.com  
Millfield School Street Somerset www.millfieldschool.com  
Millfield Preparatory School Glastonbury Somerset www.millfieldprep.com  
Moyles Court School Ringwood Hampshire  www.moylescourt.co.uk  
Ramillies Hall School  Cheadle Hulme Cheshire www.ramillieshall.co.uk  
Sidcot School  Winscombe North Somerset www.sidcot.org.uk  
Slindon College  Arundel Sussex  www.slindoncollege.co.uk  
Tettenhall College Wolverhampton West Midlands  www.tettenhallcollege.co.uk  
Wycliffe College Preparatory School  Stonehouse Gloucestershire  www.wycliffe.co.uk  
Wycliffe College Preparatory School Stonehouse Gloucestershire www.wycliffe.co.uk  
Wycliffe College  Stonehouse Gloucestershire  www.wycliffe.co.uk  

 

 
Special educational needs and disabilities
School Address Phone Type PR Weblink
Frewen CollegeRye Road, Northiam, East Sussex. TN31 6NL01797 252494Bo, D, M, 5-16 
 
 
Click on the cover to read the magazine in an interactive electronic format.

Many school advertisements have interactive links.

If you are having difficulties obtaining copies of Service Parents Guide to Boarding Schools magazine please
e-mail info@questonline.co.uk or call 01763 268120.

Alternatively, click here for your free copy
Back issues
Click here to view back issues of Service Parents Guide to Boarding Schools